No Pokemon Please

smartphone-pixabay.jpg

Confession Time. I grew up in the Pokemon Craze Generation. Everyone I knew, Christian or not, was playing/watching Pokemon. I used to have piles of those Pokemon cards too. Pokemon was seriously one of the best memories from childhood. Growing up in a stressful environment, Pokemon was a means of escaping to an exciting world–a world where I was in control of what was happening around me.

Well, like many people from this generation, I grew up (not all of us did), and actually, to my horror, I discovered that this game is not some innocent, cutesy game. It’s actually a huge doorway into the occult for your kids. If you don’t let your kids watch Harry Potter, you definitely shouldn’t be letting them play Pokemon. If you think that Harry Potter is no big deal, then you haven’t been paying attention and probably shouldn’t bother reading further.

Have you ever noticed how kids who are into Pokemon–or similar fantasies–don’t know their Bible? If I would have put half the amount of time into studying my Bible as I did playing Pokemon, I would have had a much more solid foundation to withstand temptation in my life, but alas, no one had the courtesy to warn me that I would regret it later. Is it any wonder morality is going down the tubes if young people are getting their life lessons from Star Wars and Pokemon?

I was so busy enjoying the fun part of this game–catching Pokemon–that I didn’t realize that, before I knew it, I had acquired all this knowledge of the demonic. But, you see, that’s the rage now isn’t it? Demonic forces wrapped in a pretty package, ready to do your bidding at a moment’s notice? Youkai Watch (Demon Watch), anyone? They’re not even hiding what this stuff is anymore. It’s time to teach our kids discernment. Just because something is cute, does not mean it’s acceptable before God.

Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light for darkness; that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter! (Isaiah 5:20)


For without are dogs, and sorcerers, and whoremongers, and murderers, and idolaters, and whosoever loveth and maketh a lie. (Revelation 22:15)

Given the fact that numerous people have died playing this game and others have used it as a stepping stone to go deeper into the occult, I would stay clear of this as much as possible. It would be a good starting point to explain to your kids that these Pokemon are, in reality, demons, and therefore have no place in a house dedicated to God. They’re called Pocket Monsters for crying out loud! You would be a fool to think that you can somehow “control” the demonic and use them to do your bidding. We are supposed to be breaking down the bonds of darkness, not spreading it around!

The last thing you want as a Christian parent is for your kids to think that this stuff is harmless fun. Even if the game itself does not harm them, it will numb their discernment toward evil and instead replace it with feelings of “fun” and “adventure.” Evil–as we all know–can be very fun, but we should open our eyes to what’s going on below the surface. Kids, and even adults, can have a difficult time discerning between the virtual and reality. If they’re having a fun time with demons in a game, they will be more likely to have a “fun time” with demons in real life.

I really hope this post opens up the eyes of some people who were blinded–just like me– to the dangers of this game.


 Take heed to yourselves, that your heart be not deceived, and ye turn aside, and serve other gods, and worship them; And then the Lord‘s wrath be kindled against you, and he shut up the heaven, that there be no rain, and that the land yield not her fruit; and lest ye perish quickly from off the good land which the Lord giveth you. (Deuteronomy 11:16-17)

 

 

One thought on “No Pokemon Please

Leave a Reply

